Posted by: crispygoldenflaky | March 23, 2010

an oatmeal mess discovery!!!

Sunday night was the game at Megan’s with a bunch of Sam’s friends and by Sam’s friends I mean a gathering of brave souls who were willing to try my chocolate souffle.  I was nervous because I wasn’t sure how well the insides were going to turn out.  I make dark chocolate souffles at home, but I’ve only done it with the ramekins in a water bath.  It turned out okay!  The texture was bread-pudding-esque but I think I may have waited a little long to serve it (or kept it in the oven for too long), because the souffle center was cooked all the way through!  Residual gooeyness is preferable.

You need:

  • 7 ounces finely chopped bittersweet or semisweet chocolate – I used 70% cacao
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, plus some soft butter for coating the dish
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 yolks
  • 3 tablespoons warm water
  • 1/2 c sugar + 2 tbsp
  • 8 whites
  • A squeeze of a lemon half
  • Powdered sugar to sprinkle on top (use a tea strainer, if you have one!)

Do this:

  • Brush dish with butter and dust with sugar, turning to coat
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Nuke choc and butter until melted and smooth and then load in the vanilla extract
  • Whisk yolks and warm water together. Add 2 tbsp sugar until ribbons form and then fold lightly into the chocolate.
  • Beat egg whites with a little squeeze of lemon. Add all of the sugar gradually and then set the beater to full speed until the egg whites are stiff.
  • In big, circular motions, fold the egg whites in a third at a time.
  • Gently pour into dish and bake for 20 minutes.
  • I needed an aluminum sleeve because I had too much batter and my dish wasn’t large enough, but once it is done, quickly dust with powdered sugar and serve because contact with the cool air will make the soufflé fall immediately.

Bon appétit!

Scary large souffle dish!
Yesterday, I went for my typical 7 mi loop through W. Club Blvd. –> E. Club Blvd. to Duke St. sans music.  It was WONDERFUL because so many people were out and about (I usually run much earlier) and I think I’m getting my watch tan back.  Sweet.  I tried my Sumatra coffee and wasn’t a big fan.  The herbal undertones are frustratingly tea-like!  Dislike!  Aaaaaand the woman at Copa Vida was vaguely angry at me yesterday for not buying local.  Whoops…
This morning, I went for a 6 mi loop through W. Club Blvd. and around east campus.  Half of this run was in the dark and the entire run soundtrack was Shins.  Sooo good.  Except my trusty wrap-around headphones are broken!  Which is actually kind of great if you think about it, because the sound fades in and out of my left ear, splitting up the harmonies so I can learn them more easily.  🙂
fix us!
Breakfast was an oatmeal mess and the last bits of my delicious starbucks red coffee.  I was curious about the protein and fiber content of my oatmeal messes so I did a little calculating and… drumroll please…. 11.5 g of fiber, 26.5 g of protein!  My tummy and muscles are soooo pleased.  Today was: oats, ground flaxseed, chopped up peanut butter cookie flavored larabar, a bit of pb, half a banana, cinnamon, and a teensy drizzle of agave nectar.
meant for each other.
Bring it, day!

flowers on my table this week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

