Posted by: crispygoldenflaky | August 18, 2010

a chewy, fruity rectangular creation of sorts

I had an interview today with one-on-one learning.  It’s a tutoring program in CT for children who qualify for reduced lunches and is funded by the state.  As with most tutoring jobs, the position seems to be exactly what I want to make out of it.  I would mostly work after school between 3 and 9 in Hartford, New Haven, and Meriden, and I started off asking for 5 kids.  Apparently you can work up to quite a few kids at a time and accumulate a LOT of hours over a week.  I’ve never taught according to a set curriculum, so this should be exciting and different.
Speaking of exciting and different… I may be in the process of making major adjustments to my life plan, but I should probably a) do some research on the feasibility of these adventures and b) run some of my ideas by the voice of reason before I jump on anything.  MORE SOON!  GET EXCITED.
The pears have found a home.
I love granola.  I love the texture of crunchy oats, the taste of toasted brown-sugar coated nuts, and chewy fruit, chocolate, and coconut pieces that bring it all together.  I eat granola in greek yogurt, regular yogurt, with milk, with whipped cream, with fruit and honey… the list doesn’t ever end.  But granola is SO caloric and munching on it mindlessly inevitable ends in me tearing through entirely too much at once.  And that’s how granola bars save me.  They are expensive and the bar form makes me more aware of what I’m eating.  Today was my first attempt at a chewy granola bar.  They are flavored with apple pie spice and vanilla with dried blueberries, dried cherries, raisins, pomegranate juice soaked craisins, and ground flaxseed.
They are packed full of energy and fiber and they turned out decent for a first try, but I’d like to substitute half of the oil with applesauce, add some pumpkin seeds, and try maple syrup or agave instead of honey.
some granola ingredients
Recipe:

Wet
  • 3 cups of oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1 cup of assorted dried fruit
  • 1 tsp apple pie spice
Dry
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
Do this:
  • Preheat oven at 350, grease a big pan
  • Mix dry ingredients in a big bowl
  • Make a well and pour in the wet ingredients
  • Get in there with your hands and mix away
  • Bake until the edges are brown… about 20 minutes for me
  • Cut before it has cooled completely (5 minutes)
  • Nom!

Finished product.

Love!
Leave a Reply

Categories

