Posted by: crispygoldenflaky | August 20, 2010

a simplification on a previous noodle stir-fry adventure

Hello, and happy friday!

I’m sitting in our living room drooling over the caramel cake Paula Deen is making with her son on her show. Hahaha I just imagined Brad Corriher as her son and he fit perfectly. Recently, I’ve gotten really into adding 0% greek yogurt to my oatmeal messes in the morning. I’ve gotten used to the taste of thick, protein-rich greek yogurt and I love it way it fluffs up my oatmeal! It’s like whipped cream! Today I had mini-chocolate chips, banana slices, and 0% Chobani in my oatmeal mess. YUM. Protein, carbs, fiber, fat.

things needed for a proper oatmeal experience!

yum!

Ian got me this Spyderco? knife for my Cambodian adventure and I LOVE IT. I can’t wait to use it when I leave for the Peace Corps in a year or so, but don’t worry… I’ll cut my banana slices with it for now. It is SO SHARP. I LOVE good knives.

Last night Sammy had a cereal dins and I was craving something more ribbony and savory so I made some thai ribbon noodles! I added too much STUFF the first time I made it – ginger, lime, chili powder, cayenne, red pepper flakes, soy sauce, sesame oil, zucchini, white sugar, brown sugar, bean sprouts, carrots, peppers, habaneros, onions, garlic, shrimp. It was a BIT too much.

This time, I soaked some rice ribbon noodles for 25 minutes in hot water until they were soft and chopped some veggies in the meantime. And then it was just sesame oil and the lil garlic pieces until the garlic was ready… onions until they were transparent, chili powder and some red pepper flakes, red peppers and zucchini and an egg. And the ribbon noodles. A sprinkle of brown sugar and a dash of soy sauce. Toss and nom!

oh, HEY zucchini slice eighths!

soakin’ away

veggies rearin to go

Hahaha. Everytime I think of sesame oil I think of Mitch Hedberg. What the FUCK is a se-sa-ME?

Time to be productive!

Love!

Leave a Reply

Categories

