Posted by: crispygoldenflaky | August 22, 2010

a surprise farmers market!

Ah!  Work is beginning soon!  I am about three-quarters of the way though a book my research advisor said would help me understand the basics of gustation and olfaction.  It’s called The Hedonics of Taste by Robert Bolles, and I like it.  It essentially organizes a million different sensory experiences and gives you a basic framework on pleasure, taste, and other senses that are involved with ingesting food.  My complaints (and its mostly just ME) are that most of these experiments are done on rats and the section on eating disorders is tiny.  Today I need to fill out a lot of forms, write some checks and letters, and start learning AP biology again because I’m about to tutor a high school senior in it.
Yikes.

Exciting things have been building up over the past couple of days so let’s work our way backward!

For dinner last night we decided on making our own pasta.  Except… we don’t have a strong KA mixer, we’ve never made pasta before, and we CERTAINLY don’t have a pasta machine or rolling pin.  SOOOOO it was a pain in the butt.  We decided on a five-star whole wheat pasta recipe I found on Allrecipes.com.  It called for 1.5 cups of whole wheat flour, 1.5 cups of all-purpose, 4 eggs, 2 tsp of olive oil, and 1/2 tsp of salt.  My first thoughts… not a lot of liquid?  How on EARTH is that all supposed to come together??

ingredients!
these guys are going in the sauce
tough dough
our rolling pin
so HARD TO ROLL
drying and crosswording
strands
our THICK pasta taking forever to cook even though it’s fresh
with the sauce
texture closeup
We mixed everything together and kneaded like crazy.  And then added a little water but the dough was still SO stiff.   It was really difficult to work with and we didn’t have a rolling pin so we saran wrapped and then wax papered Sam’s baseball bat and went at it after letting it sit out for 15-30 minutes so the gluten could settle.  We made sauce with garlic, onions, oreg, red bell pepperszucchini, eggplant, summer squash, and crushed red peppers.  The noodles were really really thick because we did the best with what we had…. I don’t think we’ll be making this again anytime soon.

Fun adventure though!

I spent the bulk of the day meandering around downtown New Haven, looking for a present for petite poops and I was in the wooster district (where Sally’s and Pepe’s are) when I stumbled upon the farmer’s market!  HOORAY!  It was moderately sized – probably about half of the Durham one, but sufficiently hippie-chic.  In a New-England-y kind of way.  (Sidenote – what is up with the “people not holding open doors for the next person” thing going on here?!)  I was a little disappointed that they didn’t have crafty/artesque stands but they did have a bakery, lots of local veggies, granola, flowers, and a mobile cheese truck!  I’m biased towards cupcake trucks, but cheese trucks are an acceptable temporary alternative.
hello!!
view from the entrance
fig tart
beautiful tomatoes
cheese truck!
Also – the LINE at pepe’s at 1 pm was SO long?!
I was so excited when I saw a coffee macaron at a coffee shop that I HAD to get it.  Too bad it was way too whoopie pie esque and didn’t seem to capture the thin crust that all proper French macarons need!  I think they made it with regular flour instead of almond flour.
Friday night, Sam and I went to an organic/vegan restaurant in Middletown called It’s Only Natural.  He got the noodle bowl with whole wheat noodles, veggies, dumplings, and tofu in a ginger garlic tamari broth and I got the pierogis with apple butter, caramelized onions, brown rice, garlic greens, and tofu sour cream.  Hmmm… except then we switched.  Thanksssss Sam.  Ha ha ha.
It’s Only Natural!
Chalk!
a hangman-y wait
culinary tam wee!
🙂
pierogis
noods
You can check out their website: http://www.ionrestaurant.com
And a grilled cheese on whole wheat potato bread for lunch on Friday.  With a slice of muenster.
LOVE grilled cheese sandwiches.  I’ve gotten them off of sooo many kids menus, but my favorite greek grilled cheese would probably have to be Foster’s and my favorite reg grilled cheese is probs Parker & Otis.  OH my NOMS.

I’ve shifted my workout schedule to include lifting and aquajogging because I can’t do any running BUTTT I’ve been pretty pain-free now, so I’m hoping to build to up running soon (in the next couple of weeks!)

Gotta go!

Love.
Leave a Reply

Categories

