Posted by: crispygoldenflaky | December 12, 2010

a funk. the tail-end.

Tonight marks day 3 and a half of a life funk. Wednesday and Thursday were tutoring disasters (back-and-forth-calling, disconnected numbers, and angry/unhelpful people). Wish I knew anything about teaching. And then on Thursday night I was upset and wanted to bake something simple to be happy again. So I thought a simple sugar cookie would do the trick. Wrong!

Naturally, I started making the dough at midnight. (I really need to stop these midnight baking adventures…) I don’t normally like your typical homemade sugar cookie recipe because I think they are quite bland, so I always add a touch more sugar and roll out the dough in confectioner’s sugar instead of flour. A quarter cup more sugar later, the dough was delicious. I was supposed to refrigerate the dough for an hour but I threw it in the freezer for 10 minutes. Oooops. I rolled out the dough (which was super sticky and a sign that these guys weren’t gonna hold up in the fridge, but I ignored it) and threw them in the oven for 6 min. The cookies were a spread-out disaster and the gingerbread man looked like he had elephantitis. About to cry, I gave up, didn’t soak the dishes, and set some butter out to try again the next morning.


Sad face.

These guys didn’t turn out so bad.

Friday morning I made more dough before work and put the dough in the fridge for the entire day. When I got home I tried again and the cookies spread out again. I didn’t want to waste the dough so I just made smaller, circular cookies and put some of the dough back in the fridge for sprinkling on ice cream or straight eating. 🙂

Upon reflection, this is what I think happened:
1. I halved my normal recipe and probably added too much sugar for only half of the recipe. I should’ve balanced this out with a little more water.
2. Butter tends to make cookies spread more. Maybe next time I’ll do 50% butter, 50% shortening. Although who am I kidding… I love the taste of butter too much. 80% butter, 20% shortening is as far as I’ll go.
3. Refrigerate. Refrigerate. Refrigerate.

Hopefully Christmas cookies will turn out better! 🙂

Tonight I made an old Iroquois soup recipe. Three sisters soup, which celebrates the Iroquois indians’ culitvation of corn, squash, and beans, is a wonderful vegetarian soup recipe. Hominy is the traditional form of “corn” used in the soup. I used white hominy, green beans, butternut squash (love the color!), and little baby potatoes (skins on, of course). I just recently started actually using the vegetable drawer in our fridge, so I completely forgot the green beans until I was done and had already ladled the soup into my bowl. But I threw in the beans for 5 minutes anyway…. I did them crunchy on purpose…. right?

I love the contrast of textures and colors in this hearty soup. The slightly stringy butternut paired with snappy green beans and chewy bulbous white hominy makes my mouth do a little dance. I love that you only need less than one tablespoon of butter for 4 servings and you can still taste the butter.

You’ll need:

  • A can of drained white hominy
  • About a cup of diced potatoes
  • 3/4 cup of green beans, snapped in half
  • About a cup of butternut squash (cubed)
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1 square of chicken buillion
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp all purpose flour
  • Salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste!

Do this:

  • The hominy, squash, beans, and potatoes go into the pot with the buillon cube and water until boiling. Reduce the heat and let the veggies simmer until soft (10-13 min).
  • Melt the butter and blend it into the flour. Pour it in the soup to thicken. Bring the heat up to medium-high and cook until the soup thickens more (4-5 min)
  • Season away and serve with a whole wheat biscuit!

Ingredients

Done! (wait…. where are the beans?)

Quick! SAVE ITTTTT

Phew.

A week or so ago, we got our first Christmas tree and started our ornament collection. Behold!

 

For Sam

And I figured out what to do with the huge piece of green felt I got from Paula. Make a tree skirt! And I had leftover buttons from decorating my Toms and glitter pens from my RA when she graduated and moved out.


I could totally be the birthday-cake-writer.

Decorations


The chili recipe. I love this chili. And I love that pot. Although I was tempted, I tried my best not to overdo it with the cayenne. For our tongues and stomachs.

And dressed with cheddar and scallions.

Earlier this week, I came home to an incredible package. From an incredible person. Beautious cupcake liners!!!!!! And an excuse to take a bubble bath. I almost ate the fizzy.

 

 

Aaaaannnnnd, I did some quick pantry organization. And all the necessary labeling. See?

Defunkifying.


Love

Responses

  1. I love your tree skirt! You are the most productive, cheery funked-out person that I’ve ever met. Buttons = a reason to live


Leave a Reply

Categories

