Posted by: crispygoldenflaky | February 13, 2011

a necessary indulgence

I’m sorry.  I’m not even going to try to apologize for making a huge dish of baked mac and cheese all for myself.  Yes, it did serve 8-10 and was made with full-fat ingredients.  And no, Sam wasn’t there.  He was at work.  And yes, I did cut out a big honkin’ square, thoroughly coated it in a layer of cayenne powder, and devoured it until little pieces of my soul were tap dancing inside of me.  And then I went in for another square.  The cheese sauce in the center unleashed the incomparable fragrance of real butter every time I cut through the crunchy exterior, and it was given spunk by the melted bits of blue cheese, cayenne, and pepper.  Sometimes margarine and reduced fat cheese are just not gonna cut it.  I just can’t bring myself to worry about the impending stretchy pants week.  Over it!

Cheese sauce

Mix in the mac

Ready to bake

I don’t know how I had the patience to take this picture

Close-up

Serving #1
I used a recipe I found from http://eatliverun.com/baked-four-cheese-macaroni/.  Except I cut out one of the cheeses because we only had three cheeses.
I am just too fond of cheese.

This past weekend I went down to Durham for Couch’s engagement party.  And to meet with a pre-health advisor.  And as I was flying over Raleigh/Durham, my heart leapt when I saw that the ground was green.  There was not a speck of white in sight!  Places I went:  Beyu’s cafe, Parker and Otis (of course), Dame’s Chicken n Waffles (OH MY GOD), WaDuke, Crook’s Corner.  Dame’s Chicken n Waffles was mindblowingly delicious.  Probably made so by our waiter and the people running the show.  So intellectual, soulful, and just really fascinating!   Apparently the idea of pairing Chicken and Waffles came from the Harlem Renaissance?  And they have these SCHMEARS.  Which are really just flavored butters.  But made with the real stuff.  I would write more about this but I’m about to head out.
http://www.dameschickenwaffles.com/

Fried chicken wings with a sweet potato waffle.  And two schmears.  And hot sauce, bbq sauce, and maple syrup.  Ohhh no.

Collards

🙂

Parker and Otis

Valentine truffles with Neha

The Mayonnaise Man

Deviled eggs

Beyu’s Cafe

Valentine’s day has historically been a huge (and often disastrous late-night) baking day for me.  One of the most notable disasters was when Emily and I stayed up until 4 or 5 in the morning making a million little things to send to our long distance boyfriends.  Peanut butter balls, triple chocolate chip cookies, Valentine’s Day frosted sugar cookies, key lime pie cupcakes, caramel applesauce cupcakes, and maybe a few more.  We were invincible in Aycock’s kitchen that night.  Fueled by the love for our skinny boyfriends with quite voracious appetites and the success of each preceding creation.  So we made our huge list of creations, bought some tupperware, and loaded our handmade goodies into little boxes for delivery.  I’m not going to do that again this year.  For the food-drive kick-off in the lab, I’m planning on making banana puddin’, some meringues, and maybe some red velvet cupcakes.  Although last I checked, Stop N Shop was out of red food coloring.  Ohhhhhh nooooooo.

Line’m up

Fin

Old Fashioned Banana Puddin’
You need:

1 package of cream cheese

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

4 ripe bananas

Nilla Wafers

1 5 oz package of instant vanilla pudding

3 cups of cold milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 egg whites

5 tbsp sugar

1/2 tsp cream of tartar (I didn’t have any 😦 )
Do this:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees

Beat the cream cheese and sweetened condensed milk

Beat in the cold milk, vanilla, and pudding

Line a 9×13 with Nilla Wafers

Add a layer of sliced bananas

Pour the pudding

Add some more wafers and bananas

Whip the whites, sugar, and cream of tartar and pipe it onto the top.

Into the oven for about 15.  Until the tops are brown!

Valentines baking update soon!

Love

Responses

  1. BabyGirl, you can WRITE! So can your other half, but his is a taaaaad different! Lovely piece!

  2. My fave are the crusty, crunchy parts on top.


Leave a Reply

Categories

