Posted by: crispygoldenflaky | July 4, 2011

amuuurcaaaaa

I am lying tummy down on my rug with a mason jar of water on one side, homemade watermelon sorbet on the other, and my newly-covered kindle in front of me.  I am satisfied, lazy, and my head is in a great, equilibrated spot.  I just finished two great reads – Into Thin Air, by Jon Krakauer and The Help, by Kathryn Stockett.  They are very different in almost every way but I would recommend both.  Both are quite thought-provoking and I loved the three main voices in The Help – Skeeter, Aibileen, and Minnie.

GO AND READ IT!

This morning for a late breakfast, I made myself a heaping bowl of thick rolled oats.  With a huge spoonful of peanut butter and a swirl of raspberry jam.  That paired with coffee is the most satisfying breakfast for a perfectly lazy day.  I rolled down to the pool with my pink “eat cake and move on” mug and finished my book, watching all the kids splash up a storm, annoying their parents to death.

I went to Lyman Orchards the other day and picked a pint of raspberries.  Raspberry picking tips – 1) pull back the bushes and get in there – the thorns in raspberry bushes aren’t as bad as the thorns in blackberry ones.  Also, people usually go with their kids and don’t have the patience for any berries that aren’t easily visible.  2) don’t bend at the lower back, bend at the knees!   3) bushes with big honkin bumblebees tend to have great berries.  just charm’em and they won’t bother you

I have a lot of copies of Real Simple magazine and I’ve been looking for some fun, quick recipes to try, so I’m working my way through the food sections of some of those issues.  Recently, I’ve made some cajuny green beans, chicken pita wraps, and leek, shrimp, and spinach pasta.  They haven’t steered me wrong yet!  The tzatziki I made for the chicken pita wrap was so simple, yet so flavorful and necessary for the wrap.  Here is the recipe (from Real Simple mag):

You’ll need:

1 cup of low fat Greek Yogurt (I used 0% plain Chobani) – so thick and proteiny!

1 seeded, grated, and de-juiced cucumber!  – I used a medium sized one from the farmers market

1/4 cup chopped fresh mint

1/2 small garlic clove – finely chopped… I put in a full clove… okay, fine… two

salt and pepper to taste

Do this:

Mix.  it.  up.

Yummmm.  Now dip pita points in it.  OR take a pita pocket, load it up with chicken strips, fresh cherry maters, romaine bits, and some olives.  Bite into it carefully so you get a piece of everything in each mouthful.

There is the cutest nest of birds in the little nook above our balcony.  I climbed onto our railing the other day and took a few shots but I think I also scared the parents silly… oops.  Downsides – lotsa poo and loud mornings.  Benefits – the most adorable ball of fuzz in a ball on MY patio.  How darling.

ALSO!!!  I just joined the New Haven Rowing Club.  And I love it!  It’s definitely less competitive and earlier mornings than I am used to, but it is rowing and they trust me enough to let me out in their sculling boats and steer their sweep boats.  So far, I’ve rowed in a quad, double, and single, and I’ve been learning how to carry my own boat on my head.  The water is so perfect in the early early morning.  It makes for interesting driving patterns (I drive 35-40 minutes from Meriden to the Boathouse, 25-30 minutes to New Haven, and 30 minutes home to Meriden at night).  Yowza, gas money.  I guess when it comes to the thing that makes your soul happy, no amount of driving or early morning will ever stop you from doing it.

{yippee}

love.

Leave a Reply

Categories

