Posted by: crispygoldenflaky | October 8, 2011

a new toy

For my birthday, Sam got me a giftcard to Williams-Sonoma. When we finally found time to go together, we ended up getting a beautiful silver fancyschmancy ice cream maker. For several reasons. I had purchased a tiny baby blue Hamilton Beach half-pint ice cream maker, which made soup out of my watermelon sorbet mixture, and created something bizarre from my no-cook coconut ice cream mixture (made from evaporated and condensed milks). I want to say that I forgot to chill the mixture or freeze the ice cream maker overnight… but I didn’t. The freezing compound in baby blue’s innards was completely liquidy after 20 minutes of mixing. We thought about getting a few little things (I left my pastry cutter at home!), but then decided we could get all the same things at Target for much cheaper. We thought about getting a clamp pasta maker, but I think we’re going to have a stand-mixer at some point, so it makes more sense to buy attachments for that then to get them all separately. Also, we have learned that baseball bats and wine bottles are for making pasta… right?

I think I was afraid to touch the ice cream maker for a month or so when we first brought it home. It finally came out after weeks of collecting random things that I thought would go well in various ice cream and sorbet mixtures… whole vanilla beans, random liquor, fresh cream and half-and-half from the farmer’s market… Then one lovely August afternoon when I was missing cinnamon something fierce (I go through way too much cinnamon in autumn… pumpkin pie, sweet potato pie, any granola, spice cookies/cakes, oatmeal…) I decided to jump in.

Cinnamon Ice Cream (inspired by Sam’s pick at Harrods/this would be good on some caramel apple pie!)

you’ll need:
3/4 cup sugar
2 cups half-and-half
1/2 cup whole milk
3 egg yolks
1 vanilla bean
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

do this:
-split the vanilla bean lengthwise and scrape out the insides into a saucepan
-stir 1 cup half-and-half, milk, and sugar in a saucepan over medium-low heat
-throw the bean in! the more vanilla the better
-when the mixture starts to simmer, take out the bean, take off of burner, and quickly (so you don’t make scrambled eggs!) whisk half of the mixture into the eggs to temper them
-pour everything back into the saucepan and add the extra cup of half-and-half
-stir constantly at medium-low heat until the mixture can coat the back of a metal spoon
-remove from burner and whisk in the cinnamon
-resist eating this mixture with a spoon!
-allow this mixture to cool and then refrigerate it for a few hours (I read and went for a run to resist pulling it out every 10 minutes…)
-pour into ice cream maker and freeze

The process:

Everything you need

with tempered yolks

in goes the cinnamon

ready for cooling

ribbons of cinnamony decadence

soft-serve consistency out of the maker

it’s very photogenic.

Spontaneous Squash Blossoms!!!

Ricotta-parm-pepper mixture to go into them

This without cinnamon and 2 more egg yolks makes fantastic french vanilla. I have a theory that Sam may enjoy sharing ice cream with me more when I make it because then I appreciate all parts of it instead of treating the carton like an archaeological dig site…

Tomorrow is the Head of the Housatonic, a head race on our home course. This is my first year with the club, so this is all very exciting/overwhelming right now. I mostly have no idea what is going on the organizational level, so I’m going to do my darndest to just play along tomorrow? Vermillion is poking out of the trees and it will be nice to actually see some of that tomorrow.   It will be a gorgeous day tomorrow!

Time to continue snacking on baby spinach leaves (a habit I picked up from attempting to lose weight for coxing and fight anemia!) and put on my Mary Whipple tapes.

Love

ps: I am currently reading Tender at the Bone (Ruth Reichl) and it is probably good for me because it encourages me to actually take lunch breaks?

Responses

  1. squash blossoms? how intriguing! the ice cream looks amazing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

